Last year I participated in a show at Glave Kocen Gallery, the theme of which was “Side Streets.”  The premise was to show a different side of some aspect of the city of Richmond, or perhaps shed a new light on what we know about our home town.  My approach to the project was literal at the outset, actually focusing on the streets themselves, particularly the cobblestone which to me embodies the rich history we enjoy here.  The result of my technique yielded interesting details of what lies underfoot, and not all were particularly pretty.  Nonetheless, the look intrigued me.  My pieces for the show can be seen among my work at the Glave Kocen website.

 

Scenic Shockoe Bottom. ©Jeff S. Saxman

Scenic Shockoe Bottom. ©Jeff S. Saxman

 

 

 

 

And so, on a recent Thursday morning I was inspired to take a walk with this method in mind.  My studio is two blocks from the 17th Street Farmer’s Market, and this was a natural destination. Thursday mornings is when this area plays host to a variety of farmers, florists, and artisans.  My mind was in the gutter as I strode along…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…but soon I was distracted by a lovely bunch of tomatoes and eggplant.  The colors were magnificent, especially the eggplant.

