Another one in the books. I hope it was enjoyable for all, and that good connections were made with family and friends.

This one was a doozie. We moved into a new house, and that process is pretty much complete. Between the carrying and the hauling and the cleaning and the organizing and the packing and the unpacking and the taking down of pictures and the putting up of pictures and the replacing of old exterior doors and the staining and installing of new kitchen cabinet doors and the nailing of quarter round and the talking on the phone to Verizon’s customer service and the hanging of Christmas lights, we managed to have a very pleasant holiday. Ones never to shy away from deadlines, we invited family to visit for Christmas, and friends to visit for New Year’s Eve. As crazy as I thought we were for doing this at this time, I am glad we did, because I sure would not want it in front of me now that the holidays are past. And Christmas was wonderful, as was New Year’s.

We have had a couple of cold days here in Richmond the past couple weeks. One morning, the low temperatures even made the water pooled up in our driveway turn hard, something I think in other areas of the country they call “ice.”  This being such a special occasion, I quickly grabbed my camera to document the rare event.

A winter's day, in a deep and dark December...

A winter's day, in a deep and dark December...

 

You may have noticed that the hanging of Christmas lights was mentioned among our holiday pursuits, and here is proof…

©Jeff S. Saxman

©Jeff S. Saxman

