This past weekend, I had the opportunity to photograph the Virginia Special Olympics Summer Games. It is the second year I have done so, and probably about the 6th or 7th Special Olympics event I have shot. I am in awe of those that I see at these events, and draw inspiration for a good life from my experiences there. Not only are there the athletes, young and old alike, who refuse to be deterred in their lives, and who relish in the camaraderie and joy that permeates the event; but, there are the numerous volunteers and organizers, and family and friends who unabashedly share in the enthusiasm and provide support and love at every turn. It is truly the way the world should work.
Much effort, time, and money are spent to coordinate these events, which bring light to many folks’ lives. From the donors and sponsors, coordinators, facilities, families, the volunteers handing out water and popcorn, to the fans that simply cheer on the athletes in their big moments, all are truly inspiring and remind me that humanity, despite what we often hear, can still be humane. Give it a try!
http://www.specialolympicsva.org/volunteer.htm
http://www.volunteer2cheer.com/

©Jeff S. Saxman

©Jeff S. Saxman

