My sister, Lauri, has been involved with the Hertford County (NC) Special Olympics program for a couple years, and she does a tremendous job coaching, coordinating, organizing, and cheering.  One of the events she puts together is the Polar Plunge, and yesterday I had the pleasure of being on hand for the Third Annual  Polar Plunge along the windy shoreline of the Chowan River.  Air and water temperatures were low, but spirits were high as roughly 100 or so brave, generous souls gathered to take a dip in the icy waters in support of this great organization.  They do, after all, call it “Freezin’ for a Reason.”

            I have uploaded a web gallery of the photos I took during the event, and to further support Hertford County Special Olympics will donate all proceeds from print sales to them.  Email through the link on the gallery page for purchase information.

            Thanks to all who participated yesterday- hope you have gotten warm by now!  For those I had the pleasure of meeting, it was great, and I hope to see you next year.

Image

 

