More time trials today, and more people cheering on the streets, a trend we hope and expect to continue. The day was comfortable but overcast, with a few peaks of sun in the afternoon to bring out the colorful kits flying by at 30-40 mph. Was very pleased with many of my shots today and am posting more than I intended, but feel they all bring something a little different to the light table.

Having fun again with the street signs as compositional elements. Love the low camera angle, even though my neck is sore from craning underneath the steel barriers. The crispness of the high shutter speed stuff is great when focus is nailed, but I keep gravitating back to the pan/motion blur effect. I feel it captures the excitement and speed of this wonderful event, and so I find myself pushing that shutter speed slower and slower. It’d be interesting to hear comments from readers with your preference- crisp freeze-frame shots or panning motion blur? Or somewhere in between?

Richmond 2015 UCI Cycling Championships in Richmond, VA

Richmond 2015 UCI Cycling Championships in Richmond, VA

All photos ©Jeff S. Saxman Photography. No reproduction without prior written consent is authorized. See http://www.saxmanphoto.com for more details and more photos.

