It was a beautiful day in Richmond, and the elite men were getting it done in the 53km individual time trial. These incredible athletes began their runs at King’s Dominion amusement park and the course took them through rural Hanover and Henrico Counties before ending at 5th and Broad in the city of Richmond. I considered photographing in these areas, but having resigned myself to primarily getting around by bike this week, I decided to stay closer to downtown. And as much as I love the images I am getting, I worry they are beginning to look the same. It may be time to vary the setting a bit, and the road circuit, which takes place tomorrow, may give me that opportunity.

I try not to be too heavy handed with the post production on my work, as I feel it often detracts from the subject matter. But, the last image posted here, which I would consider a “miss” (there have been a lot of them, trust me), had such interesting color and composition, that I decided to crank the pixels up a bit. If you like it, great. If not, I apologize, and yeah, I feel ya.

Richmond 2015 UCI Cycling Championships in Richmond, VA

Richmond 2015 UCI Cycling Championships in Richmond, VA

All photos ©Jeff S. Saxman Photography. No reproduction without prior written consent is authorized. See http://www.saxmanphoto.com for more details and more photos.

