Plans go astray. Schedules change. Unforeseen circumstances arise. When life gives you lemons, well…you know.

This week, it was gravity that conspired to do me in. A shelf in the prop room succumbed to its weight after years of dedicated service. And so, the time I had planned to use working on my food study was spent picking up bits and pieces of shattered plates, bowls and cups.

Today, it is mother nature, for she is preparing to unleash “Snowpocalypse 2016,” whatever that means. Personally, I am looking forward to it, but it again robs me of some of the time I might spend in the studio.

I did find some time yesterday afternoon, however, and a lemon in the fridge. Seemed like a decent subject for my 100mm macro lens (one of my favorites)…

SAXMAN-119-127-148

All photos ©Jeff S. Saxman. No reproduction authorized without prior written consent.

Looking for another interesting angle, I wondered how the lemon may look inside, under, or on top of a container of water. Nothing really clicked with the lemon, but once water gets in front of my camera, all bets are off. So I tinkered with some abstracts reminiscent of others I had done years ago, the first series of which can be seen in a previous blog post and the Glave-Kocen Gallery. And this is the diversion my study took…

SAXMAN-180-211-232

All photos ©Jeff S. Saxman. No reproduction authorized without prior written consent.

Have fun in the snow, y’all, and be safe!

