Yesterday saw the appearance of something we’ve not seen much of lately. Helios piloted his chariot over Richmond all day long, unchecked by Zeus. The resultant shadows and geometric forms, filled sporadically with stray beams redirected by window glass, was too much to resist. I grabbed my 5DmkII with 70-200mm and, despite it being not quite as warm as I’d like, took the short walk from the studio to the downtown business district at the lunch hour.

I have been interested in a particular angle/look to street photography lately, and have investigated it using my iPhone and Instagram account. This was the first time I specifically set out with the big gun to hunt these urban abstractions and slices in time, these decisive moments, if you will. I was not disappointed.

Shadowplay; Richmond Street Photography

Shadowplay; Richmond Street Photography. All photos ©Jeff Saxman. No reproduction authorized without prior written consent.

In shooting, I aimed to preserve as best I could the anonymity of the subjects, while including the human element. The universality and graphic nature of the unknown human form is something that interests me, and so, unsuspecting passersby were cut off at the waist, or the knees; or they were pounced upon from overhead; or were, in my ultimate act of cowardice, shot squarely in the back. Either way, their forms were broken down into shapes unusual and unique, and plastered against the sun-splashed street or sidewalk upon which they tread.

Shadowplay; Richmond Street Photography

Shadowplay; Richmond Street Photography. All photos ©Jeff Saxman. No reproduction authorized without prior written consent.

Employing the long focal length lens yielded a most pleasant result, particularly with the images created from more or less directly overhead. I found that the angle and flattening quality of shooting at or near 200mm served to compress dramatically that in the photo which is 3 dimensions, the human form.  At the same time, the angle elongated and almost gave a third dimension to that which in reality occupies only 2 dimensions: the figures’ shadows.

Shadowplay; Richmond Street Photography

Shadowplay; Richmond Street Photography. All photos ©Jeff Saxman. No reproduction authorized without prior written consent.

Please enjoy, comment if you’d like, and follow me on Instagram. As always, more work can be seen at the studio’s website.

Shadowplay; Richmond Street Photography

Shadowplay; Richmond Street Photography. All photos ©Jeff Saxman. No reproduction authorized without prior written consent.

