Wanted to get back on the food cart in this week’s blog post. I thought to myself, “What kind of food should I have just hanging around the studio? Why, truffles, naturally!” So, a stop at For the Love of Chocolate was necessitated.

I had imagined a stack of chocolates against a dark background with a soft directional side light, and I did work toward that, but took a more traditional approach to begin. Seeing the truffles in the box made me think of them as backgammon pieces, and so, I went that way, too.

While I don’t think anything “special” happened here, it was fun to work with and, while doing a bit of retouch, I enjoyed thinking of the close up surfaces of the candies as large planets. Plus, now there are truffles in the studio.

Stacked truffles from Carytown's For the Love of Chocolate

Truffles from Carytown’s For the Love of Chocolate. Images ©Jeff Saxman. No reproduction authorized without prior written consent.

Stacked truffles from Carytown's For the Love of Chocolate

Stacked truffles from Carytown’s For the Love of Chocolate. All images © Jeff Saxman. No reproduction authorized without prior written consent.

Truffles from Carytown's For the Love of Chocolate

All images © Jeff Saxman. No reproduction authorized without prior written consent.

