Last year, Richmond hosted the USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships, and it was seen as a trial run for this year’s UCI Road World Championship, taking place this September. I had spent a good chunk of time out photographing the action and had previously posted some of the shots on the blog. A tiny bit of interest was generated in the pics, and one of the photos was picked up to be used on the cover of the official Richmond Region Visitor’s Guide for 2015. Nearly 6 months passed between the time those arrangements were made and the issue was released, and I did not think too much of it in the interim.

Now, don’t get me wrong- I love cycling. I love watching pros and experts go mind-bogglingly fast and/or handle mind-blowing terrain. And I love capturing that action with a camera. But primarily, I love getting on my bike and riding. I must admit, short of Lance Armstrong or Danny MacAskill, I would have difficulty naming big-time riders. That does not diminish my appreciation of the sport and what those at the top do. In fact, I feel it helps me keep my focus on the action at hand, rather than who’s who, particularly when shooting.

So, the Visitor’s Guide dropped in January and it was great to see what I believed to be an exciting action shot that really captured the essence of a difficult portion of the course on the cover. A few weeks afterward, I was contacted by a friend whose attention to the cycling world is a bit more detailed than mine. I was surprised to learn that the image captures Brian Dziewa of St. Louis University, who ultimately went on to the win the men’s Division II road race, as he was closing in on the lead on the final lap.

Brian Dziewa rides in front on his way to winning the 2014 men's USA Cycling Collegiate Road Nationals in Richmond Virginia. Image reproduced on the cover of the 2015 Richmond Regional Visitor's Guide. ©Jeff S. Saxman, www.saxmanphoto.com

Brian Dziewa rides in front on his way to winning the 2014 men’s USA Cycling Collegiate Road Nationals in Richmond Virginia. Image reproduced on the cover of the 2015 Richmond Regional Visitor’s Guide. ©Jeff S. Saxman, http://www.saxmanphoto.com

See more from the race here.